Change.

I’ve never really been afraid of change. Well, let me rephrase that; if you tell me I will be eating a steak wrapped with bacon for dinner and then set a plate of naked greens and stale bread in front of me, we are GOING to have a problem. However, if I wake one day to find that some large piece of my life just isn’t really working for me, I’m not afraid to take a chance and change it up. This is the precise situation my family and I found ourselves in a few years ago. Everything seemed to be going well, the Acre was fruitful, the kids were growing, my husband and I were happy…..then it hit…..We were happy, but not as happy as we could be. Our labors on the Acre were fruitful, but not as fruitful as they could be. We were mostly comfortable in our little house, but definitely not even close to as comfortable as we could be. We slowly began to realize that we needed a change and kind of a big one.

Selling a house that has become a home, or a piece of property that has really captured a large piece of your heart is not easy and while it can be challenging ‘mentally’, it can also be ‘physically’ next to impossible. These are the challenges we faced in the rough market after the housing market collapse, yet we decided to make a go at it. We were lucky enough to find a dream piece of property on the outskirts of town through the old railroad tunnels and down near the river. At fifteen acres, it was smaller than we had hoped for, but it would do. It was nestled in the Pinions down a private mile long drive with a low wash on one side and a high point along the other, surrounded on three sides by BLM land, a short walk to the river, and with less than a handful of neighbors close by. It was and still is our perfect slice of heaven. Lucky for us, it also came with a 24′ yurt already erected on it. I say ‘lucky’ because little did we know, this was about to be our home for the next year. It went a little something like this:

Buy incredibly beautiful piece of property in a scary whirlwind in the spring (bare land payment + mortgage on the Acre = eating rice and beans for every meal). Spend half of the summer finishing all of the projects and renovations we had started (and never really planned on finishing) on the log cabin at the Acre. Move into the yurt for the summer while the house is on the market with plans to move back into the house for the winter and hopefully have it sell by the following summer. Sell the house in six days. (eeeep!) Move into the yurt full time with 2 adults, 2 kids, 3 dogs, 1 cat, 2 goats, 1 horse, 4 chickens. Talk about living in the yurt for a few years while we save to build a house. Hope that we don’t die in the yurt during incredibly cold high country winters. Find out we are pregnant with third child. Start looking (immediately) at house plans……

Yep, that’s pretty much how it happened in real life. And yet here I am, sitting at my dining room table while using *electricity* and *technology* to share this little story with you all. Yeah, I’ll get into that later….you know, the part about the yurt not having any running water or electricity…..good times, good times. But hey, the important part is that not only did we make it, but we are willing to share our story which includes naked boy penises, slight vulgar language, pregnant irrationality, house building, child rearing, and river swimming. I hope you are as excited as I am and I hope you will join us on our journey as we continue the original mission of the Crowded Acre and recount how exactly it is that we got to where we are, which is something I would really, REALLY like to know…….

One thought on “Change.

Leave a Reply

