The Bees Knees

Image

 

 

“If the world were merely seductive, that would be easy. If it were merely challenging, that would be no problem. But I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day.” E.B. White

 

I have been somewhat laid up this past weekend. On Saturday morning, my milk cow stepped squarely on top of my left foot on her way into the stanchion. Ouch! Luckily I didn’t pass out or throw up, both urges I’d had at the time of impact, and I figured that since I was able to clearly enunciate my curse words, it most likely wasn’t broken. I did haul myself and the kiddos down to the Doctor’s office and then to the Hospital to have x-rays taken. But, living in a rural area means there is no one to read x-rays over the weekend, so we had to wait until today to learn if it was broken or not. I received a call this morning confirming that it was not broken (yay!) and that I should be up and moving again in about a week. 

We are so lucky to live in such an amazing community. We had some lovely friends offer to help us move the cows over into their winter pasture and stack the last few bales of winter hay. And around lunchtime, our neighbor stopped over to regale us with tales of broken bones and wild escapades in the Alaskan backcountry. Currently, we are sitting down to the latest movie version of Charlotte’s Web, one of our all-time favorites. 

With all of this sitting still going on, I have been able to begin the outline for next year concerning our plans for growth and preparations for our 2015 Meat CSA. Hopefully this will be the final year for ordering chicks and turkey poults online, with the exception of bringing in new bloodlines to the flock. We also found a nearby source for non-GMO whole-grain feeds with organic supplements. We have been struggling to find a source for non-GMO feeds that was inside state lines, let alone affordable and within our local food shed. But thanks to the suggestion of some wonderful farmer friends, we have found all of the above. It is one of the final pieces of the puzzle which will allow us to grow our business sustainably and meaningfully. 

I have been feeling very grateful for this minor foot injury. It’s always helpful to be reminded just how strong and unpredictable livestock can be. And it’s nice to have to sit still for a while and just enjoy the world around me….and if I can manage to improve one or two things from my chair, then that’s just the bees knees.

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Bees Knees

  1. In last couple of years, I was temporarily reduced to “sitting mode” too. The culprits were knee injuries (glad I only have two knees). It became crystal clear, I will forever relish good health and an able body. Love your blog

  2. I love that quote! Hope you are able to enjoy your recovery a bit; milk it for all it’s worth! We had twins again today, and the cutest girl lamb we’ve had will be named Jen! Unfortunately her mom is in the stages of rejecting her, but now hubby is home, we’ve got a better handle on it and I certainly won’ wait until it’s too late if we can’t get her to accept her. Looking forward to seeing you. – Jamie

Leave a Reply

