Farmer Friday: Jennifer Welch from The Crowded Acre

I had a chance to sit down and answer some questions about our farm and our farming techniques. Even if you don’t have someone else asking the questions, I strongly recommend sitting down and answering a few basic questions about your desires and what drives you on your farm. It was truly an affirmation of ‘why we do what we do’ and it strengthened my belief that we are on the right track.
This past weekend, I had the chance to go and visit with Jamie Huizenga from http://www.grassfood.wordpress.com (my links button is not working for some strange reason). It was truly wonderful to put a face to a blog, and especially one I treasure so dearly. We left Jamie’s farm after a delicious lunch of lamb meatballs and our Subaru was packed with a whole lamb, a wild Powderhorn Valley sourdough starter, kefir grains, colostrum kefir cheese, and a kombucha SCOBY. My husband and children are still remarking how wonderful Jamie and her family are, and my kids especially took to Jamie’s daughter. I am sure this is a relationship we will nurture for a long time to come.
I feel the same way about the girls over at http://www.beartrackfarm.net. Finding women in agriculture is becoming more and more common. And even though they are a bit far for a day trip visit, we still have enough in common to start building a relationship and enjoy each others’ virtual company. So, if you haven’t already, go check out these sweet girlfriends of mine, and don’t forget to check out this Farmer Friday post about yours truly. Happy Farming, from our Crowded hearts to yours.

Farmer Friday: Jennifer Welch from The Crowded Acre.

3 thoughts on “Farmer Friday: Jennifer Welch from The Crowded Acre

  1. Thank you Jen for the kind words (you did misspell the grassfood link though.) I’m sorry it was so hectic when you guys came and hopefully we can get together again. I loved your Farmer Friday interview on Bear Track Farm. Great job! 🙂

  2. hey Jamie – it’s Beartrack Farm there – we’ll all get all the letters in the right place soon – enjoy your work as well, which I found through Jen. Good Monday all!

Leave a Reply

