When I am An Old Woman

cropped-image7.jpg

When I am an old woman
I will live on an old farm
Where the sun sets behind a backdrop
Of old mountaintops under new snow.

When I am an old woman
And my lover is long gone
I will share my time with the old dog
Who has never left my side.

Together we will walk at dawn
Down to milk the old cow
To watch the steam rise from the old bucket
As the warm milk meets the cool air.
Then we will go off in search
Of any bellies that need filling;
The barn cats, of course, the piglets as well,
The old sow will be relieved to catch a moment
to herself.
Then to the hens that lay dutifully, a bowl of warm milk,
To distract them in earnest
As I sneak through the coop to rob their nests.

When I am an old woman
I will eat a breakfast of eggs, fresh cream in my tea
But only after I have slowly finished
My morning chores in the old barn.

When I am an old woman
I will ride an old horse
Followed by an old dog
Down to the old river.

We will spend our afternoons there
Basking in the sun
Listening to the birds
Speaking poetry into the wind.
I will catch a fish for dinner
After a snack of wild berries
Then head home just before dusk
To start a fire to last the night.

When I am an old woman
I will eat dinner by the firelight
I will share my meal with the old dog
As the night winds begin to howl.

When I am an old woman
I will not fear the howling wind
I will place my head steady on my pillow
Ready to float away like a feather on a dream.

6 thoughts on “When I am An Old Woman

Leave a Reply

