Future of Farming

image

There’s lots of debate and controversy going on about the future of farming here in America and around the world. Can sustainable farming feed the world? Can we *really* make do without those chemicals and antibiotics? Do those new, hip, young farmers *actually* know what they’re doing? Here is what I have to say about it:

If the future of farming has to do with fulfilling a conscience over a pocketbook, I’m in.

If the future of farming feeds even one family in a more sustainable manner than the giant corporations, I’m in.

If the future of farming involves telling ‘Yo Mama’ jokes to nursing piglets at three in the morning, I’m in.

If the future of farming allows a young intern to develop a purpose in life while shoveling shit, I’m in.

If the future of farming requires you to sweet talk your husband into owning more cows than he ever wanted to own (which is most likely zero), I’m in.

If the future of farming is to wash the sticky hind end of your bottle calf off in your clawfoot bathtub (because you’re sure as he’ll not gonna lick it off like his Momma would), then I am in.

Throw it at me, future of farming, I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who is IN.

2 thoughts on “Future of Farming

  1. If the future of farming sets you free from the system of supporting GMO’s, industrial animal torture, processed crap masquerading as food, poisoning the soil and slavery to big Pharm/ big Farm, I’m in. I’m so happy about all your piglets!

  2. You get my vote. We can feed the world with low input sustainable agriculture, but first we have to change the way the world wants to be fed! I know what I want to eat and how I want it to be grown, So it’s grow your own and lots of manure shoveling.

Leave a Reply

