Eeeeeep!-Sheeeeep!-Day

image

The always lovely Jamie and Co. from Grassfood brought us some adorable sheep (and goats)! Eeeeep! Sheeeep! We are very excited about our new family members.

Bums of fuzz under a watchful eye.

Bums of fuzz under a watchful eye.

The Dude is also very excited….a little too excited. We are working on our sheep etiquette. Silly dog.

The kiddos enjoying the river while the Femmes toured Wildcraft Fiber Farm.

The kiddos enjoying the river while the Femmes toured Wildcraft Fiber Farm.

While the guys offloaded the sheep Sunday afternoon, the ladies attended the second meeting of The Farmers Femme. What’s that, you ask? Oh, it’s just a group I started for women farmers in our local foodshed. I am looking forward to seeing some amazing things come out of this powerful group of women. Yay!

After the meeting, we met up with the guys (and new sheep and goats!) here at the Acre. We pulled up the drive just as the sun sat behind the mountains. We only had enough time for a quick tour of the barn and an even quicker bite to eat. Yes, I will make food for anyone who brings me a trailer load of ruminants, so keep that in mind.

Kale salad, pot roast with root veg, and a strawberry/rhubarb crisp for anyone who brings me large or small ruminants.

Kale salad, pot roast with root veg, and a strawberry/rhubarb crisp for anyone who brings me large or small ruminants.

Ooooops! Sorry Jamie and Co., we forgot to send you off with some strawberry/rhubarb crisp! Lucky for us, though, Jamie brought us some fresh raw milk from Miss Becca. Yum. This morning I am having fresh cream in my tea…it has been a while since I’ve had this luxury. And I’m also including a little piece of the crisp because, well, somebody has to eat it.

The nommiest nom that ever nommed.

The nommiest nom that ever nommed.

Don’t worry guys…

image

…it was terrible…

image

3 thoughts on “Eeeeeep!-Sheeeeep!-Day

    • I guess I can’t complain, can I? I will make another one for when we meet again, and bring you some jars…I should have thought to give you some of our empties!

  1. Pingback: The Farmers Femme Meeting | grassfood.

Leave a Reply

